Travel Insurance Reviews for AIG Travel Guard


AIG Travel Guard is the largest travel insurance provider in the United States, protecting more than 6 million travelers every year. It provides some of the broadest coverage in the travel insurance industry. They review claims within 24-hours of receipt.

Learn more about AIG Travel Guard.

Customers rate AIG Travel Guard plans
(4.55 out of 5)
based on 2681 ratings and reviews.
98% of customers would recommend this plan to a friend or a relative.
Show
Sort by
Filed claim
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard Silver
It was comforting to know we were covered in case of emergency.
John R. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard Silver
We have been pleased with the cost and coverage.
Susan H. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard Basic
We have always used Travel Guard as our travel insurance and after enjoying more than a dozen trips to Europe, we will not choose travel insurance with any company except Travel Guard. It protects our travels in every way and this is very important for now we are senior citizens. Thank you.
James B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
AIG Travel Guard Silver
Since I didn't have to use it, I have nothing but satisfaction to report.
Sarah K. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard Gold
The original policy covered both me and my son. On or about 8/14/15, I received an email stating our travel dates were 8/17/15 through 8/31/15. I contacted Travel Guard by phone to let them know that both our travel dates were different than shown on the original policy. A Travel Guard representative walked me through a modification form to supposedly change both our travel dates. I was led to believe that my travel dates would be changed to 8/16/16 through 9/1/15 (which it was), and my son's would be changed to 8/14/15 through 9/05/15 (which it wasn't) on his new policy. I didn't realize that my son's new policy had the same travel dates as mine until I called Travel Guard on 9/5/15 to see if I could extend my son's travel date to 9/10/15. That's when I discovered that my son's travel dates had never been changed to what I had requested, or thought I requested. After speaking to two different Travel Guard representatives on 9/5/15, I was informed that a new request would be submitted to extend my son's travel dates to 9/10/15. My complaint is that I spent so much time on the phone on 8/14/15 to make changes that turned out to be incorrect. I feel the Travel Guard representative who walked me through the modification form did not provide the proper guidance for getting both our travel dates changed. My communication with Travel Guard on 9/5/15 is, of course, an entirely different issue.
Paul I. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard Basic
Since we did not file a claim with AIG Travel Guard, we do not know if coverage was adequate.
Thomas B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard Silver
These travel plans are over priced. I feel like I am being gouged when I buy one.
Derrel L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims
Satisfaction
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Carol
    Photo
    Thank you for providing your review. Comprehensive Policy premiums are calculated based on your Trip Cost per Person, your Length of Trip, the Traveler's Ages, and also your Destination in some of our plans.

    Since we offer plans from 25 of the leading providers of travel insurance, there will be quite a range in pricing. You can list your quotes in premium order by selecting "Sort by Price low to high" or you can call us at 800-487-4722 for assistance.
    Nov 27,2015
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard MedEvac Per Trip Plan
There were two people who had to visit the doctor in Scandinavia in our group. It made me realize the importance of this insurance.
Alexander W. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
AIG Travel Guard MedEvac Per Trip Plan
Although, I didn't have to use any coverage for our family trip to Italy and Switzerland, it was very re-assuring to know that I had excellent health coverage while I was on vacation. Plus, the price was very affordable. I will always use InsureMyTrip when I travel to any foreign country or cruise.
Ivan N. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
  • Empty Comment
AIG Travel Guard MedEvac Per Trip Plan
It did give the peace of mind I was looking for. It was nice to know I had coverage if needed it.
Elizabeth G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Claims no claim filed
Satisfaction
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.