Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Travel Insurance Reviews Plans

To find the best travel insurance plan for your trip, you want to know which plans worked well for other customers. All of our travel insurance reviews were submitted by customers who purchased a plan on our site. These reviews cover the spectrum including travel health insurance, cruise insurance, comprehensive travel insurance and last minute travel insurance.

InsureMyTrip evaluates all of the reviews posted on the site. "Anytime Advocates" - a team of licensed, uncommissioned travel insurance representatives - are available to assist any customer who may need help facilitating a claim or answering questions about a purchased plan before, during or after their trip.

InsureMyTrip Hits 70,000 Travel Insurance Reviews

Logo for Schema Don't Remove

Customers rated our travel insurance plans
4.58 out of 5
72,181
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Cruise
Filed claim
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare
OUSTANDING COMPANY !! We did unfortunately have a claim and it was processed so rapidly, and without any problem- it was really an excellent experience. Highly recommended.
RHEA N. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I was injured on my trip (March 7, 2020) and filed a claim immediately (March 9, 2020). C&F was very helpful in arranging repatriation so that I could return home for orthopedic surgery. In order to get home, they said I had to pay for the flights and was told to submit the claim, which I did timely. I still have not been reimbursed for the trip interruption claim. I have called and emailed numerous times. When I call, I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes.I really have been given the runaround. When requested, I submitted any follow-up documentation immediately. My claims analyst does not email or answer my calls. Last thing I was told was that my claim is in final payment review but it's been 5 weeks since I was told that for the 2nd time. I'm at my wits end with this company. I know that COVID delayed things but I filed my claim early in the COVID crises and my claims has nothing to do with COVID. I hope someone from Insure My Trip can help with this claim. I would not buy insurance from this company again.
UPDATE: My claim was finally paid but it took a lot of effort. After numerous calls and several months, a supervisor finally contacted me and the claim issue was resolved. There was one minor issue holding up the claim and if they had contacted me initially, it would have been easily resolved. I had sent them the correct documentation but they had a question and could have easily emailed or called me.
Barbara N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 21,2020
The trip included a
cruise
TravelSafe Classic
Purchased a plan for three of us to cruise to the British Isles next April 2021. We had to cancel our cruise and are very pleased that InsureMyTrip is in the process of refunding the premium we paid.
Lesley L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare Value
Claims take 8 to 10 weeks for the initial review and then they will get back to you if they need more information. I shudder to think if their was a real emergency and you needed them ASAP. We will never use this company again
Jo Ellen G. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Travelex Travel Select
Always great coverage!
bernardo g. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
Generali Global Assistance Standard
After a long battle with me having to "prove" my DCL Alaska cruise was cancelled "by DCL", they did come through and refunded my Policy premium. Next cruise I will buy from them again.
August M. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
tour
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Luxury Cruise
Due to the pandemic we did not travel. All parties involved were cooperative and issued a refund.
Franklin M. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
TruTravel Insurance Premier
Good coverage
Ruth M. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
John Hancock Silver
DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE! I paid extra for the cancel for any reason. My trip has been cancelled due to the Coronavirus and a travel ban to the country I was trying to go to. I was told cancel for any reason would get me 75% of my money back. My booking site is shut down due to the virus and I filed a claim on March 31st (over 3 months ago) Called them multiple times. Emailed with them multiple times. They still haven't refunded me. I could only imagine what they would do if there was a true emergency. Save your money and look for other companies that stand by their word and care about their clients. DO NOT TRUST THEM.
Amber H. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your claim experience, but have received word from the provider this claim has been resolved. Due to the pandemic most providers are uncharacteristically behind.
    Sep 11,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  3. Medjet
    (4.66)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.62)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.50)
  2. Travelex
    (4.48)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  4. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  5. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)