For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Comprehensive Plans

Comprehensive plans offer the most benefits, including Trip Cancellation and Trip Interruption. These plans provide the best protection for the investment you have made in your trip.

To learn more, read our Comprehensive Plans article.

Customers who have visited the United States rated our Comprehensive Plans
4.58 out of 5
5,321
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Cruise
Filed claim
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
This company is inflexible and ridiculous with the documentation they require. I supplied to them the documentation from the real estate company showing that we had cancelled our rental with them. The receipt showed what we initially paid along with the fee and the last 4 digits of our credit card number. This was not acceptable. The insurance company said they must have the bill from the credit card company itself. I supplied this. The insurance company then wanted a copy of the cancellation policy which I had already sent. I sent it again along with a copy from the credit card company showing the 90% refund I had received. This time the credit card company receipt was not enough. This time they wanted the receipt from the real estate company. I supplied this. All of this took two months of back and forth emails and phone calls. More than once I called and left a message for the agent assigned to our claim. Not one time did she return the call. A partial reimbursement check finally arrived. It was written out with my last name misspelled. This took 2 calls and 2 emails and another 2 months to sort out. I began the claim in May and finally deposited a check in mid October for a straight forward under $400 request.

I had within the last year made a claim with a different travel insurer (AIG) after years of hassle free travel. At the time I found the process arduous; however, I can now compare two companies and their different approaches. The AIG claim agent gave me his direct line. He always called me back and promptly. There were some extenuating circumstances that made it impossible to supply the normal types of medical documentation and police reports due to being in third world countries. The documentation I was able to supply was accepted. The claim agent was willing to work with me and together we found a way to provide both what the insurance company needed and what was available to me.

The difference in service between these two companies was dramatic. I can not speak for other companies but I will never use iTravelinsured again.
Margaret C. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feed back.

    Please see the response from IMG iTravelInsured regarding your review:

    "Margaret, it’s IMG’s mission to be there for our members, which means listening to your feedback and making improvements to better serve you. We are sorry IMG did not meet your expectations; help us improve by sharing additional feedback. Please email us at [email protected] to start the conversation"
    Nov 05,2020
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare Value
Claims take 8 to 10 weeks for the initial review and then they will get back to you if they need more information. I shudder to think if their was a real emergency and you needed them ASAP. Actual reimbursement time was less than 4 weeks so review updated.
Jo Ellen G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
AIG Travel Travel Guard Gold
Had to make a last minute claim in March 2020, not for COVID, but the flu. Because of COVID it took 5 months to resolve, and they requested information on items I wasn't requesting reimbursement on, multiple times, but eventually payed the claim. Impossible to call and not have a >30 minute wait, and no responses to email. Hopefully that was due to COVID, I hope not to have to find out again.
david r. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Antonia Pozarski
    AIG Travel
    Photo
    Thank you for the positive rating, and for sharing your feedback. We truly apologize for the delay in processing your claim before it was paid. With the impact Covid-19 had on the entire travel industry, we have experienced unprecedented claim volume. Please be assured we are making every effort to serve all of our customers as quickly as possible while we work through an unprecedented number of calls, inquiries and claims. Thank you again. Take care and stay safe.
    Sep 17,2020
Generali Global Assistance Standard
Filed claim 3/10 that is 30 days ago - no word - “unusual volume due to current pandemic situation” - do your job - I have been in the system long enough to get some answers
Douglas B. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are pleased to hear from your provider that your claim has been resolved. Unfortunately, all companies have been uncharacteristically behind due to the pandemic.

    For future reference all travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process. The InsureMyTrip Anytime Advocates® will help any customer with:
    Claims assistance
    Receive expert advice on how to navigate the claims process and file a claim properly with your travel insurance provider.
    Dispute resolution
    Anytime Advocates® will check the status of a claim. If a claim is denied, an advocate will work on behalf of the customer to learn why or to help with the appeal process.
    Sep 11,2020
  • Megan
    Photo
    Please see the response from Generali:

    "We are sorry the plan did not meet your expectation. We design our plans with today's travelers in mind, keeping the cost within reason and providing coverage for the main reasons you may have to cancel. Unfortunately, like other insurance plans you have, travel insurance cannot cover everything. In the event that you have additional information that was not previously submitted, showing that your loss was due to one of the Covered Events in the policy, you may submit this information via our eclaims portal (https://travelinsurance-us.eclaims.csaclaims.com) for further evaluation of your claim. "
    Sep 14,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Took nine months to get the claim settled with constant requests for additional medical documentation. I had a total knee replacement. Heard nothing from C&F from January thru May.
The real result came after an Insure My Trip customer advocate assisted me in getting C & F to respond to my claim. Within 3 weeks I had my claim settled. Thank you IMT for the great service.
William C. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback

    We are pleased to hear that your claim has been resolved and look forward to assisting you in the future!
    Sep 11,2020
International Medical Group iTravelInsured LX
Had to cancel my trip for a surgical procedure. Contacting them was pretty painless and all of the follows were prompt. Instructions were pretty straight forward. Did have to submit additional than what I originally submitted but it made sense and was pretty easy to get. Took a bit longer to process because of Covid but overall excellent experience and I will absolutely purchase another policy from them.
Diane M. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
tour
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare Value
Perfect travel insurance! Have used them many times. On one occasion had to file a claim; it went smoothly and quickly.
Evelyn S. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Carol Mueller
    Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    Photo
    Thank your for your input. We value our customers' feedback.
    Jul 06,2020
Travelex Travel Select
The Travelex claims website required that I file a claim to get copies of the doctor’s form and then had to start all over again once the doctor completed the form. It would been easier initially to go to a page setup up for downloading forms.

With the necessary forms in hand, filing online was fairly easy and the claim was approved within two weeks.
Bryan B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
Pandemic resulted in resort closing and a trip interruption. We filed a claim. They initially denied it as IMG's legal staff advised them that "a global pandemic is not a natural disaster..." - which is not true and also not relevant to the claim (its simple trip interruption). Appealed the claim and in what seems to be a permanent hold. Absolutely horrible support from carrier - in any other climate, this would have been approved immediately...
Also, very disappointed in Insuremytrip.com - they should be screening their companies better and stepping in on their client's behalf
David M. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from IMG iTravelInsured:

    "David, it’s IMG’s mission to be there for our members, which means listening to your feedback and making improvements to better serve you. We are sorry IMG did not meet your expectations; help us improve by sharing additional feedback. Please email us at [email protected] to start the conversation. "
    Sep 22,2020
    • DavidM
      Photo
      Yes, an update is in order...almost 5 months to the day of filing the claim. IMG sent me a check...InsureMyTrip reached out to IMG to ensure they stepped up their customer service and the claim was properly paid. Would I use InsureMyTrip again? Yes...they really helped.
      My feelings about IMG remain about the same, they paid because they had to and their options were limited...4 1/2 months late
      Sep 22,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  3. Medjet
    (4.66)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.62)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.52)
  2. Travelex
    (4.47)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  4. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  5. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)