For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International

Founded in 1994 and based in Connecticut, Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International focuses exclusively on travel insurance and provides the most useful types of coverage and the most specialized level of service. Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International is committed to providing dependable coverage, great value, and end-to-end satisfaction.

Learn more about Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International.

Customers who have visited the United States rated C&F Travel Insured International
4.57 out of 5
662
ratings and reviews
96%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
In the end the plan paid what I hoped it would but the turnaround time was awful. And if I had gotten email in the meantime checking in, it wouldn't have been so bad. But I heard nothing and I wasn't sure if they had gotten my claim or not..
Jennifer T. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Because of Covid we purchased Cancel for any reason plan. We used a credit given by the people we rented from the year before to pay for the trip. Once we agreed on a date I purchased the insurance to cover if things were still bad. We had to cancel because of Covid and my Husband's general health. He was not allowed to get the vaccine yet due to health conditions. When I tried to use my benefits we were denied because the credit use was from last year's cancelation and the check for the 2020 reservation was dated 2020. I thought as long I purchase the insurance when I made the reservation for 2021 and paid in 2021 that the insurance would be valid. Just to be clear the 2021 reservation was paid for on the date I made it. The check from 2020 was for the 2020 date that had to be canceled because of Covid, thus the credit to use at the time of our choosing.
JAMES W. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I look forward to a day when purchasing insurance is straightforward and you don’t have to be a Rhodes Scholar to understand the possible loopholes etc. But your agent was easy to work with, and the process seemed quite thorough.
Carol S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Oh where to begin with this review. I purchased this policy w C&F Travel Insured because it had the cancel for any reason option-the main reason for paying a hefty premium but a necessity I required. Long and short of it, I did use the cancel for any reason for canceling my covered trip. Long delay for any resolution after submitting all required receipts and forms and evidence. 3 calls back and forth with C&F customer service and no response back and 6 months passed since initial claim!! Yes you read that correct-SIX months. I had to contact my state’s Department of Banking and Insurance and I filed a claim against C&F. Low and behold 7 days thereafter...my claim was paid! Why did it have to escalate to this C&F?? Why the terrible customer service? Why the extended delays? Why the NO communication C&F? Even though my claim was eventually paid, I will be sure to NEVER again use C&F due to these circumstances. Thank you to my state’s Department of Banking and Insurance for advocating for a resident and helping a paying customer obtain his rightful compensation!
Matthew F. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Took nine months to get the claim settled with constant requests for additional medical documentation. I had a total knee replacement. Heard nothing from C&F from January thru May.
The real result came after an Insure My Trip customer advocate assisted me in getting C & F to respond to my claim. Within 3 weeks I had my claim settled. Thank you IMT for the great service.
William C. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback

    We are pleased to hear that your claim has been resolved and look forward to assisting you in the future!
    Sep 11,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Lite
My claim experience with this company has been one of the worst experiences ever. To make a long story short, after receiving a partial check for my claim, I tried to invoke the appeals procedure as contained in the policy. I called, emailed, and wrote numerous times. I was completely ignored. I never received a reply to any request. I wrote requesting a formal appeal and never received a reply. I contacted insuremytrip,com and they were of no help. I would not recommend using this company.
Dennis G. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:
    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 11,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Thank you for providing affordable coverage for vacations.
Jessica C. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Due to the age and health of my wife and the coronavirus, her doctor recommended against going to Seattle so the trip was canceled. Can I get a refund for this?
Jan W. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Upon receiving your review we reached out to the provider to see if a refund of premium was available. Due to COVID-19 and the potentially affected travel through December 31st, 2020 Travel Insured is offering a very generous voucher program which allows you to use your current plan towards a new or rescheduled trip (up to 36 months from the original date that you purchased the policy). In order to take advantage of the voucher please
    visit https://www.travelinsured.com/vouchers/.
    If you would like to speak with them directly, their telephone number is
    800-243-3174.
    Sep 08,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Didn’t need to use it but the coverage was reasonable.
Debra D. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. Trawick International
    (4.69)
  3. Medjet
    (4.66)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.63)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.56)
  2. GeoBlue
    (4.48)
  3. Travelex
    (4.47)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.35)