For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International

Founded in 1994 and based in Connecticut, Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International focuses exclusively on travel insurance and provides the most useful types of coverage and the most specialized level of service. Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International is committed to providing dependable coverage, great value, and end-to-end satisfaction.

Learn more about Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International.

Customers rated C&F Travel Insured International
4.58 out of 5
7,062
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I filed a claim under the Cancel for Any Reason provision. I was able to initiate the claim online and email the supporting documents. Those processes were easy to use. The amount they paid was correct in accordance with the contract and matches what I expected. It took about 5 months from my claim submittal before they asked me for a few additional documents showing the cancellations I made. After that, the claim was paid within a couple of weeks. Normally I wouldn't consider that timeframe to be reasonable, however my rating is accounting for the delays that I assume all insurers are experiencing with high volume due to COVID-19.
Ryan E. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
We were very pleased with Travel Insured International! We had to interrupt our trip half way because my husband had a heart attack while on Kangaroo Island, South Australia. He was transferred to Adelaide in southern Australia where 2 stents were placed in his heart. We were reimbursed for the Unused Trip Portions and extra transportation costs and hotel costs since we had to stay in the country an extra 10 days before he was allowed to return to the U.S. but we weren't allowed to continue with our scheduled tour. The only reason I gave 4 stars on the promptness of claim processing is that it was about 4 months after returning from our trip that the claim was finally settled & check received. Just so you know, we had to send A LOT of paperwork documenting the medical treatment and extra expenses, so everyone should keep very good records when traveling and using travel insurance! Anytime we were contacted about this claim, they were very friendly and courteous as we worked through all the necessary steps. Thanks very much!
Karl E. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I purchased my travel insurance January 2020 for a January 2021 trip. My insurance plan included cancel for any reason. I knew May 2020 that I was not going to take the trip so I cancelled. I submitted my claim to C&F Travel Insured International Sept 3, 2020; 4 months later and I have heard nothing from them! I have been patient, but this is ridiculous. The reason for travel insurance is to receive reimbursement for trip issues. If they are not going to do anything but take my premium payment; I don't need them. At this point I would never, ever use them again.
UPDATE
With help of Insure My Trip I received my trip reimbursement. I can't thank Insure My Trip enough for their prompt response and resolution to this issue!
Yvonne S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Thank you for allowing InsureMyTrip to advocate on your behalf. We are happy to see your claim was resolved.

    C&F Travel Insured has issued the following response to your review:

    "Thank you for your feedback. We strive for customer experience excellence. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. Please email your contact information to [email protected] , to further discuss your situation. Thank you."
    Feb 09,2021
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
You offer the worst, most unpredictable product in the world. We filed a claim because Covid caused a trip planner to cancel a trip. Of course, your managers in their wisdom saw that as a once in a lifetime opportunity to fleece your customers. We spend hours navigating your ungodly claims process, kept making calls for 9 months to see what the holdup was, and finally got the news that our claim was turned down. I am using every platform I can find to make people undeerstand how absolutely worthless you and your products are.

Don't have anyone from "Customer Care" call. We already tried that route. A joke. Like your whole company. Aptly named: "crumb."
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    C&F Travel Insured has issued the following response to your review:

    "Thank you for your feedback. We strive for customer experience excellence. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. Please email your contact information to [email protected] , to further discuss your situation. Thank you."




    Feb 09,2021
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Its been a month since I submitted my claim, no response by email and no call back when I entered the virtual que.I realize they are busy currently, but some kind of response to any of my email and submissions over 30 days seems reasonable.

Update:
after 2 months, I did get an email asking for proof of the refunds I was able to get on my own of the total trip cost. I submitted that the same day.
after 5 months, the insurance company somehow got my airline tickets refunded by the airline which was nice since they were supposedly non refundable. They never communicated with me about it, just got the credit from the airline.
After 6 months, I still have a small deposit I had claimed and should be paid but I've heard no communication from the insurance company despite repeated attempts on my part for contact.
Additional update: their web site had changed several times and I finally found an update on my case there which shows the claim was "closed" 2 months ago. With no communication to me nor any response to the multiple emails I have been sending in the meantime.
I will certainly NOT recommend this company.
Final update: with the assistance of insure my trip, I finally got my claim paid. The lack of communication from the insurance company made for a very frustrating and time consuming process. I'm very pleased that Insure my trip stepped-up and helped me.
Erica P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback!

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Dec 01,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
It's been FIVE MONTHS since I filed my claim and...nothing. Every time I call, they say they're just about to look at it. They they promise the analyst will call me back. Then...nothing.

Travel insurance only works if the company responds when you need them to. This is not a company you can count on.
Peter J. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for allowing InsureMyTrip to advocate on your behalf. We are pleased to learn that CF Travel Insured provided you with reimbursement for your loss.

    Please see the response from CF Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience throughout the process."
    Dec 08,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Lite
I was going to Dubai, Emirates canceled my trip but charged me $400 cancellation fee. I was only trying to get that covered. Took them 7 months to complete and deny the claim! Not useful. Would not reccomend!
Luis T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] . We appreciate your patience. "
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I bought two separate policies (as required since we don't live in the same household) for my almost 80-year-old father and I to travel to the Netherlands in April 2020. The airline cancelled our flights (non-refundable tickets) because of COVID (clearly stated in our email). I filed a claim for one policy on April 5, 2020 with all relevant documentation. I started getting reminders to submit relevant documentation several weeks later although I had already submitted all of the required documentation. I submitted the second claim for my father in May 2020 because it was clear nothing was happening quickly (understandable certainly). Several months later, I started calling on a monthly basis because of hearing nothing from the company. They assured me first the files were complete and then that they had been consolidated and assigned to a claims person. I gave up calling after the last person I spoke to said that calling every month was fine but wouldn't make anything happen any faster. I received a letter about my policy today 10/16/20 (almost six and a half months later) informing me that non-refundable airfare was apparently not covered under the policy. I reread the policy and agree that this is apparently true. Why one would offer insurance for travel but not cover airfare is admittedly a "shame on me" thing for not noticing that the one and ONLY thing we needed it for wasn't included (literally the tickets were the sum total of the value of the trip for which we requested insurance--everything else was refundable or could be cancelled). I understand the technicality of the decision; that it took five and a half months (without any clear information from the company) is appalling, especially now since I have to try and find other recourse to recoup thousands of dollars some other way. I certainly would never buy from this company again and would urge other users to read carefully in case they assume that their airfare is in fact included in the policy if your airline cancels your trip. In our case, it was "your Travel supplier cancelling your trip is not a listed covered reason; therefore, benefits are not payable." So, lesson learned, but I wish I hadn't been able to buy coverage for something which literally couldn't be refunded according to the terms of the policy.
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Although it took 7 months, I finally received my trip interruption insurance claim from C&F. Since I purchased the policy through Insure My Trip, I reached out to them, 3 months in, to try to push C&F to respond to my claim. Insure My Trip was very helpful in clarifying the hold up and with further help from my travel agency, Pavlus, I was finally able to get the compensation I was due.
WENDI L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    We appreciate your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I filed my claim early May and provided all the necessary paperwork - I cancelled due to Covid and purchased a cancel for any reason policy. Received claim check in September with help from insuretrip.com customer service.
Alnie F. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. Medjet
    (4.66)
  3. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  4. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.62)
  5. Global Underwriters
    (4.61)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.54)
  2. Travelex
    (4.47)
  3. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.37)