For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Travel Insurance Reviews Plans

To find the best travel insurance plan for your trip, you want to know which plans worked well for other customers. All of our travel insurance reviews were submitted by customers who purchased a plan on our site. These reviews cover the spectrum including travel health insurance, cruise insurance, comprehensive travel insurance and last minute travel insurance.

InsureMyTrip evaluates all of the reviews posted on the site. "Anytime Advocates" - a team of licensed, uncommissioned travel insurance representatives - are available to assist any customer who may need help facilitating a claim or answering questions about a purchased plan before, during or after their trip.

InsureMyTrip Hits 70,000 Travel Insurance Reviews

Logo for Schema Don't Remove

Customers rated our travel insurance plans
4.58 out of 5
72,361
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Cruise
Filed claim
The trip included a
cruise
International Medical Group iTravelInsured LX
Purchased this plan because it would cover preexisting conditions. Had to cancel my March cruise on Doctors orders not to travel after change in my medical condition. I have been fighting with this insurance company for nine months and the still have not payed my claim. The keep losing my Medical record documents that the doctors office send them and they are asking for records for 60 days prior to when the insurance was purchased even though my Doctor sent them a note that there are no medical records for that period because my health was good then. They say they cannot reach my doctors office on the phone when my Doctors office says they have not called even thought the doctors office has been waiting for there call. I would never recommend IMG iTravelInsured or use them again.
John K. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Its been a month since I submitted my claim, no response by email and no call back when I entered the virtual que.I realize they are busy currently, but some kind of response to any of my email and submissions over 30 days seems reasonable.

Update:
after 2 months, I did get an email asking for proof of the refunds I was able to get on my own of the total trip cost. I submitted that the same day.
after 5 months, the insurance company somehow got my airline tickets refunded by the airline which was nice since they were supposedly non refundable. They never communicated with me about it, just got the credit from the airline.
After 6 months, I still have a small deposit I had claimed and should be paid but I've heard no communication from the insurance company despite repeated attempts on my part for contact.
Additional update: their web site had changed several times and I finally found an update on my case there which shows the claim was "closed" 2 months ago. With no communication to me nor any response to the multiple emails I have been sending in the meantime.
I will certainly NOT recommend this company.
Final update: with the assistance of insure my trip, I finally got my claim paid. The lack of communication from the insurance company made for a very frustrating and time consuming process. I'm very pleased that Insure my trip stepped-up and helped me.
Erica P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback!

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Dec 01,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
It's been FIVE MONTHS since I filed my claim and...nothing. Every time I call, they say they're just about to look at it. They they promise the analyst will call me back. Then...nothing.

Travel insurance only works if the company responds when you need them to. This is not a company you can count on.
Peter J. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for allowing InsureMyTrip to advocate on your behalf. We are pleased to learn that CF Travel Insured provided you with reimbursement for your loss.

    Please see the response from CF Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience throughout the process."
    Dec 08,2020
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Essential
Always nice to have trip insurance when we travel!
John C. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
  • Empty Comment
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Essential
Nationwide is not on your side. I booked multiple trips and purchased multiple insurance plans with Nationwide. They failed every time. They acted poorly right out of the gate - starting with not returning calls to not paying a very small claim. I worked hard to minimize any losses even though I had insurance (or so I thought). My insurance cost $218 and my claim was a mere $283. I even emailed the CEO and never heard back. Apparently their poor way of treating people starts at the top. I was shocked at how devious and cheap they were. I have used other companies that charged more but settled claims quickly, fairly and honestly. Do yourself a favor and shop elsewhere. I do like InsureMyTrip - they did try to act on my behalf.
Randy P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel. Upon learning that your claim was deemed unpayable, we reached out to you about Nationwide making an exception to cancel the policy for a refund of premium. Nationwide needs additional information in order to determine if you meet the guidelines for a successful exception. Please contact us at 800-487-4722 for further information.
    Nov 20,2020
Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection ExactCare
Purchased the Exact Care plan for a recent trip to Mexico during hurricane season. On our departure day a named tropical storm hit us and flight was cancelled. We incurred another night stay at a hotel, as well as food cost. Saved all my receipts of expensive incurred and email communication from airline confirming cancellation, and submitted it with my claim. Claim was processed way sooner than company originally stated and my full claim was approved. Payment was received less than 24 hours after claim was approved. Will definitely purchase trip insurance from Berkshire Hathaway again. They will be my go to travel insurance company from now on.
Gabriela S. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Brittany G
    Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    Photo
    Thank you for your review, we're glad you've had a positive experience.
    Mar 31,2021
The trip included a
cruise
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Universal Cruise
I have purchased this plan two years in a row for cruises and have not made a claim. Because of Covid my cruise was cancelled this year 190 days in advance and I reached out to InsureMyTrip.com and they facilitated a refund which I was not expecting to happen. Thanks to Nationwide and InsureMyTrip.com for great customer service during these unprecedented times.
Henry W. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
Overall, I was sort-of satisfied with this policy; most of the expenses we incurred as a result of sickness while traveling were reimbursed promptly, but unexpectedly not all.

After checking in for a transatlantic flight at the end of our long weekend in Barcelona in December, I became so sick I could not (didn't want to - and nor would the airline have wanted me to) board the aircraft; on the advice of airport medical services I was hospitalized. After many hours and many tests, I was cleared to travel 48 hours later. The Sickness section of this policy covered the ambulance, all direct medical expenses and two hotel overnights for recovery. The Trip Interruption section covered the cost of new airline tickets. Surprisingly, though, none of the other approximately $320 expenses resulting from my sickness (e.g. taxi from hospital to hotel, meals, replacement airport bus tickets, additional parking fee for overtime days at US airport, basic clothing (our baggage had been checked and could not be retrieved quickly) - none of which were pre-paid) were covered.

We're experienced and very moderate travelers. $320 is not a big deal for two adults for two days. Nevertheless, I wanted to check whether this omission was accidental or intentional. If intentional, it is something that a traveling family (more people, possibly more time) should note. After checking with the insurance carrier I'm satisfied that they ruled correctly in accordance with their policies (a data breach and Covid-19 slowed down the review). Nevertheless, my common sense view is that these were unavoidable costs that most people would consider to be the result of Sickness, Trip Delay or Trip Interruption and thus covered.

The Bottom line - read the fine print of any carrier's policy VERY CAREFULLY to see if it meets your common sense expectation of coverage if an unexpected event occurs. You might be surprised. Would I use them again or recommend them? Maybe yes, but with my eyes wide open to the unanticipated hole in coverage.
adrian h. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
This company is inflexible and ridiculous with the documentation they require. I supplied to them the documentation from the real estate company showing that we had cancelled our rental with them. The receipt showed what we initially paid along with the fee and the last 4 digits of our credit card number. This was not acceptable. The insurance company said they must have the bill from the credit card company itself. I supplied this. The insurance company then wanted a copy of the cancellation policy which I had already sent. I sent it again along with a copy from the credit card company showing the 90% refund I had received. This time the credit card company receipt was not enough. This time they wanted the receipt from the real estate company. I supplied this. All of this took two months of back and forth emails and phone calls. More than once I called and left a message for the agent assigned to our claim. Not one time did she return the call. A partial reimbursement check finally arrived. It was written out with my last name misspelled. This took 2 calls and 2 emails and another 2 months to sort out. I began the claim in May and finally deposited a check in mid October for a straight forward under $400 request.

I had within the last year made a claim with a different travel insurer (AIG) after years of hassle free travel. At the time I found the process arduous; however, I can now compare two companies and their different approaches. The AIG claim agent gave me his direct line. He always called me back and promptly. There were some extenuating circumstances that made it impossible to supply the normal types of medical documentation and police reports due to being in third world countries. The documentation I was able to supply was accepted. The claim agent was willing to work with me and together we found a way to provide both what the insurance company needed and what was available to me.

The difference in service between these two companies was dramatic. I can not speak for other companies but I will never use iTravelinsured again.
Margaret C. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feed back.

    Please see the response from IMG iTravelInsured regarding your review:

    "Margaret, it’s IMG’s mission to be there for our members, which means listening to your feedback and making improvements to better serve you. We are sorry IMG did not meet your expectations; help us improve by sharing additional feedback. Please email us at [email protected] to start the conversation"
    Nov 05,2020
The trip included a
cruise
International Medical Group iTravelInsured LX
We paid for Cancel for Any Reason coverage for a trip in early September to Scotland and Ireland that included our small group tour of Ireland and our nonrefundable airfare between Scotland and Ireland. When the Royal Tattoo was canceled due to Covid, we cancelled the airfare we paid for with American miles to allow other American customers access to those seats, but these airfares weren't part of our coverage. We hoped to still be able to fly to Ireland and do the tour. When we were within two to 3 weeks of our trip and Ireland still required a 2 week self quarantine because of Covid, we tried to cancel our small group tour. The tour company refused to give us a refund, but thankfully Viator did. In the end, we only filed a claim for the $200 Ryanair airfare from Scotland to Ireland which was nonrefundable. The claims department refused our claim despite our Cancel for Any Reason coverage because they said we were required to file the entire claim within 20 days of cancelling our airfare to and from Scotland/Ireland. I explained that we used miles for that and cancelled the initial flights hoping to rebook a flight to and from Ireland with miles if Ireland didn't have a quarantine at the time of our tour. They didn't care. We have bought insurance from them 3 times in the past 2 years. I asked them how it was good business to refuse a $150 claim that was the result of Covid uncertainty and lose a good customer. Again, they didn't care. We will never buy an iTravel policy again from IMG.
Lisa W. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from iTravel Insured regarding your review:

    "It’s IMG’s mission to be there for our members, which means listening to your feedback and making improvements to better serve you. We are sorry IMG did not meet your expectations; help us improve by sharing additional feedback. Please email us at [email protected] to start the conversation."
    Oct 26,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. Medjet
    (4.66)
  3. Trawick International
    (4.63)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.63)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.54)
  2. GeoBlue
    (4.48)
  3. Travelex
    (4.47)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.35)