For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews AIG Travel

AIG Travel is the largest travel insurance provider in the United States, protecting more than 6 million travelers every year. It provides some of the broadest coverage in the travel insurance industry. They review claims within 24-hours of receipt.

Learn more about AIG Travel.

Customers rated AIG Travel
4.57 out of 5
7,370
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
AIG Travel Travel Guard Essential
This was one of the rare trips where we did need to file a claim, due to a cancelled flight. Once we submitted the paperwork and documentation, AIG processed and paid the claim pretty quickly without squawking about it. So experience with the policy was good and smooth.
Bryan B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
AIG Travel Travel Guard Preferred
easy to access insurance , with good coverage at a reasonable rate
David G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
AIG Travel Travel Guard Preferred
I never ended up needing my travel insurance, but there was one instance when I thought I might and I found it almost impossible to contact the center to find a provider and what was covered. As I only had a data plan for my phone, there was no way to call a normal number and I could not easily find an online chat to get the same information.
I don't know if I missed a Whatsapp number I could call, or an online chat help, but it would be useful to add if it doesn't already exist.
Eileen B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
AIG Travel Travel Guard Essential
I really can’t make a true review, because we have yet to have an opportunity to use it. However, we have gotten an email from the car rental company stating there was a large scratch on the back bumper. We never saw that, never noticed it, and have no idea if it was there when we got the car. So, is AIG going to cover that damage if we are charged with it?
Beth B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
AIG Travel Travel Guard Essential
We got caught up in that mess at Newark airport in June 2023. United moved our connecting flights to the next day while we were in the air, and there was an approximately four-hour line just to talk to a rebooking agent. No hotels, no rental cars available in the area. I submitted my claim for the flight since it was of no use to us being a day later, and I was VERY happy with how quickly AIG Travel Guard resolved my case. Thank you so much. This was my first time ever submitting a claim, and I was worried it would take forever, but it was completed in about a week's time.
Jane E. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
AIG Travel Travel Guard Essential
In April 2023, I had a scooter accident in Vietnam. I filed my first claim on May 18, 2023. Since then, I have been trying to get a response from AIG related to my claim. There is no one to call. They do not respond to my e-mails. The dozen or so documents I sent could have been reviewed in an hour. Yet, over a month has gone by and I still do not know what is going on with my claim. I keep sending e-mails asking for an update or status, but get nowhere. I have already paid out $3500 in medical and travel expenses to my credit card company. The average person cannot carry this amount for more than a month. Yet, here I am still waiting on any kind of response from AIG. I feel like I will never, ever get an answer from them.
Sean S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Angie
    Photo
    We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience and apologize for the longer than anticipated processing time. Claims are reviewed in the order they are received. Our claims team will reach out to review what documents are needed in order to process this claim. Thank you,

    Jun 29,2023
The trip included a
tour
AIG Travel Travel Guard Preferred
AVOID TRAVEL GUARD AND AIG INSURANCE CO
We bought AIG Travel Guard to cover our flights and rafting trip in the Grand Canyon. Our Airline (American) cancelled our flight at midnight, 8 hrs prior to departure, and couldn’t offer same day departure on another flight. We had to buy new tickets on a different airline in order to arrive in time to depart on our rafting trip. After 6 months of trying, both the ticket agent and the airline refused to refund us for the full cost of our original tickets and the additional cost of last minute booking on a different airline. We turned to AIG for coverage and our claim was denied because they said the airline cancelling your flight is not a covered reason if it occurs prior to your trip - even 8 hours prior when you have no other options. The policy will cover you if your pet gets sick and you miss your trip, so a sick hamster will get your money back but not an airline cancelling your flight. Wouldn’t you think travel insurance would cover the airline cancelling your flight before covering a sick hamster? AIG’s Travel Guard doesn’t.

Furthermore, our claims experience was a complete disappointment. First, we submitted all required documents with our claim. About 4 weeks passed and then AIG asked for all the documents again. We responded that we had submitted everything with the original claim and asked for clarification on what they were missing. There was no response and then several more weeks of silence went by and we received our denial. All the communications we received from AIG end by saying to please call with any questions. So, we called to speak with someone about our claim. The person who answered was clearly reading from a script and was incapable of providing anything other than the scripted answer. This was evident because we were read the same scripted answer multiple times. We then asked to speak with the adjuster about our claim and were promised a call. That call never came.

We did read the policy prior to purchasing it and consider the policy language vague at best. The average person would have significant difficulty knowing whether a potential travel issue would be covered under this product, and there are scenarios like ours that could affect your trip but that you wouldn’t think to ask about ahead. Except for your hamster suddenly becoming ill - that’s covered, no need to ask.

We also think Insuremytrip.com could do a better job of pointing out common travel issues that aren’t covered, and that this should be part of the comparison tool.
Dallas V. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Angie
    Photo
    We at AIG Travel apologize for any challenges you experienced with your claim. Claims are adjudicated based on the coverage purchased and supporting documentation submitted. If you would like assistance with contacting your Claim Adjuster to further review the outcome of your claim and the benefits available, please let us know.

    Apr 25,2023
    • DallasV
      Photo
      To anyone consider AIG Travel Guard, this reply from AIG is representative of the level of customer service you can expect from AIG should you ever have a claim. My review states we were promised a call from our claim adjuster, and the claim adjuster never called. Now, the response from AIG asks if we want assistance contacting our Claim Adjuster.
      Angie @ AIG - we are still waiting for a call from the claim adjuster that we requested months ago, so please follow up on the original request for the claim adjuster to call us.
      Thank you.
      May 01,2023
The trip included a
tour
AIG Travel Travel Guard Essential
Even though we didn’t need to use the insurance we felt it was a good policy for our trip.
Jerry B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
AIG Travel Travel Guard Preferred
We buy AIG Travel Guard for each cruise and so far haven't had to use it, but feel comfortable that it's there.
Catherine H. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
AIG Travel Travel Guard Preferred
March 5, 2023:

Since filing a claim my wife, Gail, has done the following: Initial claim: November 2022; had to get a agent to help get a claim number on line and December 13, 2022 submitted the requested information and received a confirmation that documents submitted were received; December 23, 2022 requesting the same information; January 6 received identical correspondence from Brandyn Dang requesting more information which was sent AGAIN; January 18 email from AIG they needed more time to review my claim, January 26 sent email to AIGTravlAlerts requesting some one call my wife Gail. Gail finally spoke to someone in Customer service who said although we check on the status of our claim the web page to check on the status has not been updated and shows closed. I insisted on speaking to a supervisor who was absolutely NO help. This is very frustrating and I am not the only one having issues with AIG. I have a friend who also is await a response from AIG since November 2022. They are quick to take our money but delays, delays, request for the same information...this is a very poor insurance company.
Richard P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. International SOS
    (4.67)
  3. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.64)
  4. Medjet
    (4.63)
  5. Trawick International
    (4.61)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.48)
  2. GeoBlue
    (4.45)
  3. Travelex
    (4.44)
  4. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.30)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.27)