For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews AXA Assistance USA Gold

The AXA Assistance USA Gold plan offers travel insurance, travel assistance, and concierge benefits. It provides coverage for a variety of concerns, such as changes during your travel due to inclement weather, bankruptcy of a travel supplier, and much more.

Customers rated the AXA Assistance USA Gold plan
4.50 out of 5
2,021
ratings and reviews
96%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
The trip included a
tour
AXA Assistance USA Gold
On 9/16/2016 I have arrived in Delhi airport, India only to find out that my luggage was not transferred from KLM to Jet Airlines in Amsterdam. After 3 hours of administrative hassle I finally opened the missing luggage claim with Jetair. My flight to Katmandu was departing next morning. An original plan was just to stay in the terminal and use the sleeping lounge. I had a single entry visa for India that I planned to utilize on the way back to stay in resort in Kerala. At about 2 a.m. completely exhausted, I opted to take a shower and catch on sleep in the Transit Hotel in International terminal 3. As this was a transit hotel technically I have not entered India.

Next morning I have connected to my flight to Katmandu. On the way back on September 26th I have proceeded to an airport to board 9:50 am flight from Katmandu to Delhi to connect to my final location in Kerala, TRV. I had non-refundable 4 days paid resort fee of 527 euro or $527.00

I was shocked to learn that my single entry visa was used up when Transit hotel took my passport for the registration and stamped it with airport authorities. Which I was not aware about. Since I had to apply for emergency visa to India, the earlies available departure was on October 1st, 2016. Just in time to connect to my flight back to US. This caused a trip interruption of 4 days, loss of the resort fee of $527.00 and unused Jet Air cancelled itinerary of about $450.00. I called AXA and advised them on the situation. The representative assured me that because of the unforeseen circumstance this will fall under the trip interruption. I am sure they retain the phone records. I have filed the claim with all supporting documentation and cover letter. The claim was denied because this particular circumstance is not listed under covered events. However it is also not specifically excluded. I bought the policy in a spirit that it will cover me in the UNFORESEEN events, which my situation clearly falls under. At this point I have open the case with the CA Department of Insurance and will proceed with the legal actions against this company unless my claim is reconsidered. I have travelled to 54 countries and always bought insurance coverage. I do not recommend this company
Olga P. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback on the policy. AXA Assistance USA has issued the following response:

    "We appreciate the feedback you have provided. We understand your disappointment and are sorry to learn you aren’t completely satisfied with your purchase. Unfortunately, the trip interruption benefit is only payable under the reasons specifically defined in your policy. In the future, you may call us so we may assist you in clarifying policy benefits prior to purchasing. We sincerely hope you will consider us again for future travels."
    Dec 09,2016
The trip included a
cruise
tour
AXA Assistance USA Gold
I purchased this Insurance for peace of mind. We were traveling to Jordan and Egypt. Locations that sometimes get a bad rep. I purchased an option to cancel for no reason in case I got too nervous to go. That coverage only gives you back 50%. The other coverage I added was terrorist act coverage, in case some disturbance happens before we leave we are able to cancel our trip. The good news is that those countries were actually great places to go to and we felt absolutely safe.

During my trip I did have a bad fall. Old locations like Cairo have bad steps and I fell and hit my spine pretty bad in one of the mosques. I didn't go to the hospital while I was there. I was trying to downplay it. I iced for days and since I was in the last end of my trip I decided to wait till I got back to see a doctor. Now that I am back I want to get seen but the representative I spoke to said that I no longer have coverage, even though the injury happened during my trip. They won't cover any tests or a chiropractor visit. That's a big disappointment. For this reason I will give a low grade to this insurance.
Elizabeth S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback on the policy. We hope that fellow customer will find your review and our response to be educational and informative.

    We are sorry to learn of the accidental injury that you suffered. The AXA Assistance USA Gold plan provides coverage up to 100,000 USD per person for unforeseen, accidental injuries or emergency illnesses which first occur during the trip, and are treated by a physician during the trip. If medical treatment is not obtained during the trip, and the traveler waits until returning home to the United States, the travel insurance expires and is not responsible for the medical bills.

    The AXA Assistance USA Gold plan offers an optional add-on for Cancel For Any Reason. If the requirements for Cancel for Any Reason are satisfied, and the benefit used to file a claim, the pre-paid and nonrefundable trip costs are reimbursed up to 75%.

    Thank you for using InsureMyTrip for your travel insurance needs. Please let us know if you have any questions. We would be happy to assist you. Our representatives are available 7 days a week by calling 800-487-4722 or emailing [email protected]

    Oct 25,2016
The trip included a
cruise
tour
AXA Assistance USA Gold
The ability pay your premium as you spend is a great feature.
Raymond S. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Crystal
    AXA Assistance USA
    Photo
    Thank you for the review. We appreciate the opportunity to provide coverage for you and look forward to providing travel protection for all of your future travels.
    Oct 26,2016
The trip included a
cruise
AXA Assistance USA Gold
We purchased this policy to cover unlikely weather events that would prevent our adventure cruise from operating, per the recommendation of the adventure cruise company as they would not reimburse under those circumstances. A category 5 tropical storm (hurricane) then occurred damaging the ship irreparably preventing us from going on this cruise. This event was clearly covered in our policy, yet AXA denied our claim, denied 2 appeals, then advised us to take our issue to our state insurance commissioners office. We did that and eventually received compensation. This took over 4 months from when our claim was filed. While we received prompt and courteous response from the customer service reps, we were repeatedly denied direct access to any of the adjusters who denied our claim to have them explain their reasons, which changed with every denial. This process was very stressful as we were to loose $7500 in what was so clearly covered by the policy. This is the first time we have filed a travel insurance claim so we don't know if all insurers are like this or just AXA. However, we believe most customers would not go this far to be reimbursed and insurance companies know this.
Mary R. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback on the policy. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your claim experience. We are pleased that you ultimately received reimbursement of your loss. Based on your review, it appears you took the steps that we would have recommended, but we do want you and your fellow customers to be aware that InsureMyTrip offers a Customer Advocate Program. Customer Advocates are representatives assigned to assist customers who experience issues after filing a claim. Requesting a Customer Advocate is as simple as calling 800-487-4722 or emailing [email protected], explaining the events which resulted in a claim, and the challenges you are facing.
    Oct 25,2016
The trip included a
tour
AXA Assistance USA Gold
What I most appreciated about your plan was the flexibility. When I had to cancel a trip after I had paid the premium ,you gave me a year to plan another trip. Even when I had to change the dates ,you let me use the plan for the later dates. It was great to have the peace of mind that came with your insurance plan. All of your representatives were kind and helpful. I'm very glad that I didn't need to use the insurance.
suzanne h. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Crystal
    AXA Assistance USA
    Photo
    Thank you for the kind review. It can be quite disappointing to have to cancel a trip but we are happy to know your claims experience went well and you were able to reschedule the trip. We appreciate the opportunity to provide coverage for you and look forward to providing travel protection for all of your future travels.
    Oct 17,2016
The trip included a
cruise
AXA Assistance USA Gold
This plan offered the coverage I looked for at HALF the price offered by my travel planner. I truly appreciate this. I usually purchase trip coverage due to my age and personal health. I try to plan one big trip per year with my 3 travel partners! Thank you.
Jackie Sue W. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Crystal
    AXA Assistance USA
    Photo
    Thank you for the kind review! We are delighted to know you’re happy with your purchase. Please think of AXA Assistance USA for your next big annual trip. We look forward to providing travel protection for all of your future endeavors!
    Oct 14,2016
The trip included a
cruise
AXA Assistance USA Gold
How do you rate something you never used??
Richard H. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Crystal
    AXA Assistance USA
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a trouble-free trip but were covered in the event the unexpected occurred. We look forward to providing travel protection for all of your future endeavors!
    Oct 14,2016
The trip included a
tour
AXA Assistance USA Gold
I know I need trip insurance, but it is just so expensive!
Yvonne B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
AXA Assistance USA Gold
Insurance is what you buy and hope not to use. On this it worked quite well!
Lyle C. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Crystal
    AXA Assistance USA
    Photo
    Having that sense of peace of mind can really often be priceless. We are proud to have been a part of it for you. Please think of AXA Assistance USA for any future travels and we hope to continue to provide you with a worry-free experience.
    Oct 11,2016
The trip included a
tour
AXA Assistance USA Gold
Customs at Johannesburg, South Africa was totally backed up. Getting through took three hours, resulting in a missed connection. Totally beyond our control. Couldn't get a flight out until 1pm the next day. Had to stay overnight in Johannesburg and had the expenditure of a hotel room and breakfast, lost a day in Cape Town and the value of our prepaid room and breakfast in Cape Town. Paid over $400 for this policy and was advised by the carrier and InsureMyTrip's advocate nothing would be covered, customs isn't a covered cause of loss. Worthless!
Carole L. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  3. Medjet
    (4.67)
  4. Trawick International
    (4.64)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.65)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.53)
  2. GeoBlue
    (4.49)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  4. Travelex
    (4.46)
  5. AIG Travel
    (4.33)