Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International

Founded in 1994 and based in Connecticut, Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International focuses exclusively on travel insurance and provides the most useful types of coverage and the most specialized level of service. Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International is committed to providing dependable coverage, great value, and end-to-end satisfaction.

Learn more about Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International.

Customers rated C&F Travel Insured International
4.59 out of 5
7,047
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I was injured on my trip (March 7, 2020) and filed a claim immediately (March 9, 2020). C&F was very helpful in arranging repatriation so that I could return home for orthopedic surgery. In order to get home, they said I had to pay for the flights and was told to submit the claim, which I did timely. I still have not been reimbursed for the trip interruption claim. I have called and emailed numerous times. When I call, I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes.I really have been given the runaround. When requested, I submitted any follow-up documentation immediately. My claims analyst does not email or answer my calls. Last thing I was told was that my claim is in final payment review but it's been 5 weeks since I was told that for the 2nd time. I'm at my wits end with this company. I know that COVID delayed things but I filed my claim early in the COVID crises and my claims has nothing to do with COVID. I hope someone from Insure My Trip can help with this claim. I would not buy insurance from this company again.
UPDATE: My claim was finally paid but it took a lot of effort. After numerous calls and several months, a supervisor finally contacted me and the claim issue was resolved. There was one minor issue holding up the claim and if they had contacted me initially, it would have been easily resolved. I had sent them the correct documentation but they had a question and could have easily emailed or called me.
Barbara N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 21,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I wanted to FILE A CLAIM BUT Could not GET ANY RESPONSE FROM THE COMPANY. I tried calling several times and no one answered the phone even after being on hold for ever. Finally I got in touch by email and got paid
Joyce G. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.
    Aug 20,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Purchase this insurance for a recent trip to Canada, on our way back we had a +6 hour delay and I made a claim for expenses (meals, charger etc; ~ $105.00 USD). Submitted all the documentation on January 12th and it has been more than 19 BUSINESS DAYS without a response (25 calendar days), even though they say it takes around 15 business days to process. No communication has been received, terrible customer service, do not buy!

UPDATE: After 8 months Insuremytrip did follow up. The claim ($102) was paid but only after the bad review above was posted. Anyway, I stand with what I said before, terrible service and the process should have been either faster and/or with more communication on their part.
Alejandro E. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:
    "Thank you for your feedback. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 10,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I purchased this plan in November 2019 for the entire cost of my trip. On February 20 I filed a claim on line because no one would ever pick up the phone. I stayed on line for hours. During this time I was very persistent and continued to follow up with trying to get refunds from the carriers and all vendors, was able to receive refunds on my own. However, some companies would not refund any money. I continued to try and contact C&F thru emails and by telephone and one day actually got someone on the phone who claimed to to be a supervisor. Went over everything with her and she required additional documents of which I had previously sent multiple times. I waited months for any answer. I emailed and called this person and it always went to voice mail. I left lots of messages and never received even one response.

I finally reached out to NYS Dept of Finance who licensed this company. Within days of filing a claim with the state the were sending me my settlement.
It took filing a claim t with NYS to get a refund. Too bad that they do not send you a breakdown because they did not send the entire amount. Need to threaten to go back to state until they paid in full.
Will never use this company again.
Barry T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 14,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Took nine months to get the claim settled with constant requests for additional medical documentation. I had a total knee replacement. Heard nothing from C&F from January thru May.
The real result came after an Insure My Trip customer advocate assisted me in getting C & F to respond to my claim. Within 3 weeks I had my claim settled. Thank you IMT for the great service.
William C. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback

    We are pleased to hear that your claim has been resolved and look forward to assisting you in the future!
    Sep 11,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I filed my claim on 2/25/20 and turned in all requested documents on 3/19/20.
I didn't receive any updates on the status of my claim until 5/14/20 when it was updated on the claim status website. I had sent emails and tried calling (without success since there was a 2 hours waiting time, and I left my call back number when requested, but no one would call back) several times.
Little disappointed about how long it took to process the claim. More than that, that I didn't receive updates during this time.
Sarpreet B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    We appreciate you providing feedback. The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.
    Jun 01,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Lite
My claim experience with this company has been one of the worst experiences ever. To make a long story short, after receiving a partial check for my claim, I tried to invoke the appeals procedure as contained in the policy. I called, emailed, and wrote numerous times. I was completely ignored. I never received a reply to any request. I wrote requesting a formal appeal and never received a reply. I contacted insuremytrip,com and they were of no help. I would not recommend using this company.
Dennis G. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:
    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 11,2020
The trip included a
cruise
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I purchased travel insurance for a plane ticket. When the program was canceled and my daughter had to return home, we had to purchase another flight home. After waiting 9 weeks for the claim to be processed, we were denied, saying that it was not a "covered reason". Why did I buy insurance if the trip cancellation has so many loopholes that it won't pay? I will NEVER buy insurance from you again and I travel quite a bit. Furthermore, I will review you negatively on every site I can find....and tell everyone I know NOT to use you.
Roger T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback on the policy. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your claim experience.

    We do want you and your fellow customers to be aware that InsureMyTrip offers a Customer Advocate Program. Customer Advocates are representatives assigned to assist customers who experience issues after filing a claim. Requesting a Customer Advocate is as simple as calling 877-612-3827 or emailing [email protected], explaining the events which resulted in a claim, and the challenges you are facing.
    Sep 08,2020
  • Megan
    Photo
    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured:
    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve had during your experience with our company. Our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] . "
    Sep 10,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Revised review: I don't judge an organization on whether or not a mistake is made, I judge it on how it responds to its own mistake. My experience was that this company would not "make right" its own mistake (after weeks of phone calls) until I wrote an appeal and until InsureMyTrip got involved to advocate for me. Then finally I got the money expected. Details ...

I bought this policy with an optional upgrade. After Lufthansa damaged a piece of our Rimowa luggage I called TI International to verify the benefits available to me under my plan and was told over the phone that our coverage for one piece of luggage would be up to $500. So I went through the process of filing a claim with Lufthansa and getting a repair estimate with Rimowa. I accepted Lufthansa's offer of $150 because I knew that I had $500 of coverage with this trip insurance. So when Rimowa told me it would cost about $680 to replace the luggage (our's was not fixable) I didn't worry.

After filing the claim with TI International, I find out that they would only send a check for $250. I called them, certain this was an error, but apparently our plan only covered $250 for a piece of luggage. I take good notes and pointed out that their own representative verified we were covered for $500, and was told management will review the audio of the phone call. Management did review the phone call and did admit that indeed their representative told me the bag was covered for $500, but since I didn't purchase the policy based on false information they would only be paying me $250. They gave an example of if I had lost luggage and called to find out what our coverage was to buy clothes, etc. on our trip and was given the wrong coverage number and then spent money based on that incorrect number, they'd cover that. After telling them that indeed I did base a financial decision based on the wrong coverage number, i.e. I accepted Lufthansa's $150 offer because I knew I had $500 coming to replace the bag, their response was I could go back to Lufthansa and try to get more!!! I do not see how this is different from the example they provided of someone spending more on clothes because they were told an incorrect coverage amount over the phone.

After many phone calls they admitted several times that their representative gave me the wrong coverage information and said they made sure to correct her for future interactions. They apologized. But they would not financially stand behind their clear and verified mistake and sent me just $250. They even suggested I should have known what the coverage was by reading their long form coverage document, but I pointed out that their own employee who works with this all day did not know what the coverage amount was!

I wrote an appeal to TI International, wrote my original review here, and InsureMyTrip got involved to advocate for me (appreciated). Then TI International left me a voicemail apologizing and sent me a check for the other $250.
Anne C. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback on the policy. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your claim experience, but we are glad to hear InsureMyTrip's advocate program was able to assist.

    Sep 08,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.71)
  2. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  3. Medjet
    (4.66)
  4. Nationwide
    (4.63)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.62)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.50)
  2. Travelex
    (4.48)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  4. GeoBlue
    (4.46)
  5. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.41)