For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International

Founded in 1994 and based in Connecticut, Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International focuses exclusively on travel insurance and provides the most useful types of coverage and the most specialized level of service. Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International is committed to providing dependable coverage, great value, and end-to-end satisfaction.

Learn more about Crum & Forster - Travel Insured International.

Customers rated C&F Travel Insured International
4.58 out of 5
7,145
ratings and reviews
97%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
You offer the worst, most unpredictable product in the world. We filed a claim because Covid caused a trip planner to cancel a trip. Of course, your managers in their wisdom saw that as a once in a lifetime opportunity to fleece your customers. We spend hours navigating your ungodly claims process, kept making calls for 9 months to see what the holdup was, and finally got the news that our claim was turned down. I am using every platform I can find to make people undeerstand how absolutely worthless you and your products are.

Don't have anyone from "Customer Care" call. We already tried that route. A joke. Like your whole company. Aptly named: "crumb."
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    C&F Travel Insured has issued the following response to your review:

    "Thank you for your feedback. We strive for customer experience excellence. Our apologizes for the frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high, but every customer experience is important to us. Please email your contact information to [email protected] , to further discuss your situation. Thank you."




    Feb 09,2021
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Its been a month since I submitted my claim, no response by email and no call back when I entered the virtual que.I realize they are busy currently, but some kind of response to any of my email and submissions over 30 days seems reasonable.

Update:
after 2 months, I did get an email asking for proof of the refunds I was able to get on my own of the total trip cost. I submitted that the same day.
after 5 months, the insurance company somehow got my airline tickets refunded by the airline which was nice since they were supposedly non refundable. They never communicated with me about it, just got the credit from the airline.
After 6 months, I still have a small deposit I had claimed and should be paid but I've heard no communication from the insurance company despite repeated attempts on my part for contact.
Additional update: their web site had changed several times and I finally found an update on my case there which shows the claim was "closed" 2 months ago. With no communication to me nor any response to the multiple emails I have been sending in the meantime.
I will certainly NOT recommend this company.
Final update: with the assistance of insure my trip, I finally got my claim paid. The lack of communication from the insurance company made for a very frustrating and time consuming process. I'm very pleased that Insure my trip stepped-up and helped me.
Erica P. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback!

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Dec 01,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
It's been FIVE MONTHS since I filed my claim and...nothing. Every time I call, they say they're just about to look at it. They they promise the analyst will call me back. Then...nothing.

Travel insurance only works if the company responds when you need them to. This is not a company you can count on.
Peter J. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for allowing InsureMyTrip to advocate on your behalf. We are pleased to learn that CF Travel Insured provided you with reimbursement for your loss.

    Please see the response from CF Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience throughout the process."
    Dec 08,2020
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Lite
I was going to Dubai, Emirates canceled my trip but charged me $400 cancellation fee. I was only trying to get that covered. Took them 7 months to complete and deny the claim! Not useful. Would not reccomend!
Luis T. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] . We appreciate your patience. "
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I bought two separate policies (as required since we don't live in the same household) for my almost 80-year-old father and I to travel to the Netherlands in April 2020. The airline cancelled our flights (non-refundable tickets) because of COVID (clearly stated in our email). I filed a claim for one policy on April 5, 2020 with all relevant documentation. I started getting reminders to submit relevant documentation several weeks later although I had already submitted all of the required documentation. I submitted the second claim for my father in May 2020 because it was clear nothing was happening quickly (understandable certainly). Several months later, I started calling on a monthly basis because of hearing nothing from the company. They assured me first the files were complete and then that they had been consolidated and assigned to a claims person. I gave up calling after the last person I spoke to said that calling every month was fine but wouldn't make anything happen any faster. I received a letter about my policy today 10/16/20 (almost six and a half months later) informing me that non-refundable airfare was apparently not covered under the policy. I reread the policy and agree that this is apparently true. Why one would offer insurance for travel but not cover airfare is admittedly a "shame on me" thing for not noticing that the one and ONLY thing we needed it for wasn't included (literally the tickets were the sum total of the value of the trip for which we requested insurance--everything else was refundable or could be cancelled). I understand the technicality of the decision; that it took five and a half months (without any clear information from the company) is appalling, especially now since I have to try and find other recourse to recoup thousands of dollars some other way. I certainly would never buy from this company again and would urge other users to read carefully in case they assume that their airfare is in fact included in the policy if your airline cancels your trip. In our case, it was "your Travel supplier cancelling your trip is not a listed covered reason; therefore, benefits are not payable." So, lesson learned, but I wish I hadn't been able to buy coverage for something which literally couldn't be refunded according to the terms of the policy.
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    We thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the response from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the frustrations you’ve experienced during your experience with our company. Our relationship with our customers is very important to us. If you’d like to discuss your situation further please contact us at [email protected] We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
The trip included a
cruise
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
Although it took 7 months, I finally received my trip interruption insurance claim from C&F. Since I purchased the policy through Insure My Trip, I reached out to them, 3 months in, to try to push C&F to respond to my claim. Insure My Trip was very helpful in clarifying the hold up and with further help from my travel agency, Pavlus, I was finally able to get the compensation I was due.
WENDI L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    We appreciate your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured regarding your review:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes hare very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Nov 05,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
I filed my claim early May and provided all the necessary paperwork - I cancelled due to Covid and purchased a cancel for any reason policy. Received claim check in September with help from insuretrip.com customer service.
Alnie F. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
I was injured on my trip (March 7, 2020) and filed a claim immediately (March 9, 2020). C&F was very helpful in arranging repatriation so that I could return home for orthopedic surgery. In order to get home, they said I had to pay for the flights and was told to submit the claim, which I did timely. I still have not been reimbursed for the trip interruption claim. I have called and emailed numerous times. When I call, I'm on hold for at least 45 minutes.I really have been given the runaround. When requested, I submitted any follow-up documentation immediately. My claims analyst does not email or answer my calls. Last thing I was told was that my claim is in final payment review but it's been 5 weeks since I was told that for the 2nd time. I'm at my wits end with this company. I know that COVID delayed things but I filed my claim early in the COVID crises and my claims has nothing to do with COVID. I hope someone from Insure My Trip can help with this claim. I would not buy insurance from this company again.
UPDATE: My claim was finally paid but it took a lot of effort. After numerous calls and several months, a supervisor finally contacted me and the claim issue was resolved. There was one minor issue holding up the claim and if they had contacted me initially, it would have been easily resolved. I had sent them the correct documentation but they had a question and could have easily emailed or called me.
Barbara N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Megan
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Please see the reply from C&F Travel Insured:

    "We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any frustrations you’ve experienced. Call volumes are very high at this time, but our relationship with our customers is very important to us. We appreciate your patience."
    Sep 21,2020
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector
My claim was initiated 2 and 1/2 months ago. Other than a request for documents, I have heard nothing. You cannot get through to them on the phone, and all you get is a chat bot who provides no response except to direct you to a web page which merely confirms that the documents were submitted. They blame Covid for the poor customer service. Covid is not an excuse for bad customer service. My trip was cancelled by the airlines and I made a claim for nonrefundable costs as per the policy. I would be very hesitant to use them because, if I were stuck on a trip with an actual emergency, how would I get through for help?
Maria W. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
C&F Travel Insured International Worldwide Trip Protector Plus
Did I purchase good coverage for a reasonable cost? Yes. Would I ever purchase it from this company again? NO. Insurance is useless if it takes months to even receive a response to your claim (if ever). I purchased trip insurance from this company on 3/13/20 for a trip scheduled for July 2020. My policy included the "Cancel for Any Reason" benefit. I had to cancel due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions. After canceling my airfare, I submitted the required claim documents on 4/10/20 and again on 4/29/20 when my status on the website didn't change. I also emailed the Claims department with a question regarding claims submission and, to date, have never received a response. I followed up with phone calls on 5/20/20 (I was told my docs had been uploaded finally), 6/26/20 (I was told a "case" would be started and that the agent my claim is assigned to would reach out via email with a status update the following week—no response), on 7/9/20 (I was told my claim would be "escalated to Management."), on 7/20/20 (I was told that my claim would be "escalated to Management for a callback today." I requested to speak to a manager since I was getting nowhere and was told, "No one is available." and all she could do was mark the claim for a manager callback—no response ever). It also did not matter what time of day or what day of the week it was, each time I waited on hold to speak to a representative for no less than 45 minutes. Initially, I could accept that a significantly higher number of claims were being processed due to the pandemic, but it is unacceptable that I could not even get a status update when my claim was allegedly assigned to an agent months ago. Just stop lying to people. I ended up filing a complaint with BBB as well as the Connecticut Attorney General’s office. I also started spamming them through Facebook Messenger. A few days after that, I got an email that I would be receiving information regarding direct deposit for my reimbursement. Ultimately, I did receive my money per my policy. However, the complete ineptitude of this company to even communicate with their customers, with a significant amount of money on the line, nearly overshadows that entirely.
Emily N. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
  • Zac
    Photo
    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your claim was paid.

    The travel insurance industry has been experiencing an increased volume of inquires and claims due to the COVID-19 pandemic and have been trying their best to address all requests in the order in which they are received.

    All travelers that purchase a policy through InsureMyTrip have access to our Anytime Advocates® program. This unique program is designed to save our travelers time and money by contacting the travel insurance provider directly to smooth out any kinks in the claims process.
    Aug 20,2020
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.70)
  2. Trawick International
    (4.67)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.68)
  4. Medjet
    (4.66)
  5. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.63)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.55)
  2. GeoBlue
    (4.48)
  3. IMT Services
    (4.47)
  4. Travelex
    (4.46)
  5. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.39)