For a better experience, our site works best in Chrome, Firefox, & Edge.
Call us

Travel Insurance Reviews International Medical Group

For more than 20 years, International Medical Group (IMG) has provided international medical insurance, travel insurance, and service to the international community, with worldwide coverage, multilingual capabilities, international claims specialists, and 24-hour access to services. IMG provides medical security and peace of mind, wherever you travel.

Learn more about International Medical Group.

Customers rated International Medical Group
4.51 out of 5
4,047
ratings and reviews
95%
recommended
Sort by
Showing
Cruise
Filed claim
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
Purchased the plan for our Christmas visit with our son in Canada. Primary reason I chose this plan was for the higher amount of medical coverage it would provide. During our visit my wife caught Covid. She had a tele-visit with a Canadian doctor who prescribed medications. Upon returning home a filed a claim with the receipts to IMG. 5 days later I was informed that I did not provide ACH info so the benefits would be deposited in my checking account. 10 days later the money was deposited. The process was easy but be sure to keep all receipts and documents and send to the claims agent, in this case iTravelInsured
Russel L. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
Oct. 6, 2022 Cruise canceled due to death in family. Claim filed Oct. 14, 2022. Claim paid Feb. 2, 2023. First claim submittal included official State Death Certificate listing cause of death (disease) and contributing diseases, hospital it occurred in, and all the other usual DC info., and electronically signed by certifying physician. IMG insisted on additional documentation signed by "Attending Physician", with complete history of onset and treatment of cause of death. I feel this is excessive and intrusive and irrelevant since the DC establishes that the covered reason, Death, was met and documented. All this required Medical Release of Information. Since We live in New England and deceased in Southeast, it was very difficult to obtain the Release from the deceased's, grieving and elderly spouse.

In addition, we had purchased a refundable shore excursion, so it was not included in the Covered Amount or in the claim. Yet, IMG insisted on proof from provider that it was reimbursable and amount of reimbursement. Again, irrelevant to claim and unnecessary hassle.
John S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group Patriot International Lite
I did not need to use the plan, so I cannot speak to how well it would have worked if I had needed it. The cost seemed reasonable to me, and the online purchasing process went smoothly.
Candace B. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
No claim to be filed, but we were comfortable purchasing this plan after talking to an agent who was very good to answer our questions and provide extra input.
Mickey R. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
We notified IMG immediately and then filed our claim promptly, a month after our trip was cancelled because of my mom's death. Three weeks after filing all documents requested, through their secure portal, I called and was told they had never received any documents. A week after I sent them a copy of the receipt confirm they had sent me when I filed, they "found" the documents. Another three week pause before they requested additional info that they had not initially asked for. Another three weeks (always with me needing to initiate the follow up) and they said the claim from a hotel was not valid because they did not charge me until we had cancelled (which their website, which I had sent a link to, clearly stated was how they would handle charges and cancellations). Another three weeks and they said that even though I had provided proof that our train ticket was non-cancellable / non-refundable, I needed to prove that I had cancelled it and did not get a credit. It was not until I wrote a letter stating that I no longer felt that I was being dealt with in good faith, that three plus months after I submitted our claims, and lots of hassle, they paid the claim. This has caused me to seriously question whether trip insurance is really worth what it costs when you factor in all the work and hassle to file a claim. P.S. If a company is always experiencing "heavier than usual call volumes" is it really heavier than usual?
Martin R. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
tour
International Medical Group Patriot International Lite
we did not experience any incident during the trip which required us to call on you. However, what was important was the comfort to know that Patriot International is there for us should we need any help.
Lawrence T. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
International Medical Group iTravelInsured SE
After filing documents, responding to emails, and lengthy phone calls, the decision was not to pay.
very disappointed
Rosi L. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for an earlier version of the plan.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
tour
International Medical Group iTravelInsured Travel LX
Terrible customer service! It took over 4 months to get paid on a claim and literally 50+ hours of follow up calls with the company. Hold times were hours long and I received conflicting information. They seemed to do their best NOT to pay me for covered events in my contract - possibly hoping that I would give up. I had to escalate to the CEO in order to get any action. (I also requested help from Insure My Trip and that customer service was great). Be sure to read the contract before buying from this company. There are other companies on this site who might be a better fit. I can't recommend IMG and will never buy from them again.
Nancy G. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Kaylie
    Photo
    Dear Valued Customer,

    Thank you for letting us know about your claim experience. We are very sorry for the delays and multiple communications. Prior to the pandemic, claims were typically processed within 30 days provided that all necessary documentation was sent in. Due to the overwhelming volume of trip cancellations and other claims during the pandemic, the normal processing time for claims has been around 3-4 months over the past year or so with most providers. That time can also be longer if they are waiting for further documentation from you. Things have started to get back to a more manageable volume so we're hopeful claims will get back to a reasonable timeframe.
    Jan 31,2023
International Medical Group iTravelInsured Travel LX
On 9/2/22, the night before a flight from Salvador to Foz do Iquacu Brazil, Azul Airlines canceled the flight. No reason was given by the airline. Our travel agent scrambled to get us another flight on GOL, and we paid an additional $681 for the flight. That was the basis of our claim, which was filed on September 30, 2022. The insurer asked for additional information (most of which had already been sent with the original claim), but we sent all of the additional documentation required. On November 22, 2022, the insurer asked for the identical documentation, which had already been sent them. Again this was sent to them. On December 16, 2022, the insurer again asked for the same documentation. I spoke with the insurer on November 22 and December 16, 2022, and on January 7, 13, and 17, 2023, each time being told that a supervisor would call. No supervisor called until January17, when we were told that we were required to obtain from this local Brazilian airline, in writing, an explanation as to why they canceled the flight back in September. The explanation for why it mattered why the airline canceled the flight was that it was "protocol". The supervisor could not, or would not, understand how ridiculous this requirement was. The trip interruption and additional airline fee should have nothing to do with why the airline canceled the flight; only that the flight was canceled. I believe it was just the insurer's way of avoiding paying a claim, even a small claim like this. Apparently when you go on line there are a number of similar complaints. I would tell anyone who asks that they should avoid Itravel. And Insuremytrip should be warning people about this company.
Michael S. would not recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Empty Comment
The trip included a
cruise
tour
International Medical Group iTravelInsured Travel LX
Thank goodness that I did not need to use the insurance. I like the Insuremytrip app and always use that when traveling.
Linda M. would recommend this plan to a friend or relative.
Coverage
Value
Satisfaction
Claims not filed
Note: This review is for a plan that is no longer available.
  • Empty Comment
Show reviews per page.

Top 5 Providers

  1. GeoBlue
    (4.70)
  2. International SOS
    (4.70)
  3. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.65)
  4. Medjet
    (4.64)
  5. Trawick International
    (4.62)
  1. Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
    (4.47)
  2. Travelex
    (4.44)
  3. GeoBlue
    (4.43)
  4. AIG Travel
    (4.27)
  5. John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
    (4.26)