COVID-19 Pandemic Travel Restrictions By State

Last updated on 04/07/2021

Like many elements of travel, the COVID-19 pandemic has had a significant effect on domestic travel. Constantly changing restrictions and guidelines leave many travelers unsure about how to travel between states and what will be required of them upon arrival. To help clarify the situation, InsureMyTrip has aggregated recent data from reliable sources and condensed it into maps, which will be updated as necessary, to reflect the latest restrictions and guidelines for each state.

So, before hitting the road on your next U.S. adventure, check our travel restrictions guide to ensure you know what to expect.

COVID-19 Pandemic Travel Restrictions by US State

For some states, it appears slightly more complex than simply "do I need to quarantine upon arrival or not?" A significant number of states offer COVID-19 testing in lieu of a mandatory quarantine.

Additionally, many states are implementing mandatory documentation upon arrival and health screening at airports. Read more about which states to expect this in below.

Data below last updated 4/7/2021

State Further Explanation
Alaska As of February 14, 2021, travelers and returning residents are no longer required to provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival. However, anyone who tests positive is still not allowed to travel. Governor Dunleavy has announced new health advisories and guidelines. As of March 12, the state's official Safe Travels website now reflects the Governor's updated guidelines and states that travelers are "advised" to submit a Travel Declaration and Self-Isolation Plan and arrive with a negative melecular based COVID-19 test. Despite the relaxing of these restrictions, we still recommend abiding by the CDC's guidelines for quarantine and encourage travelers to get tested prior to traveling to Alaska.
California On November 13, 2020, California issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 10 days after arriving from another state or prolonged exposure to people outside your household. The government is also encouraging residents to stay local. As of January 25, 2021 California had lifted its statewide stay-at-home order, however local orders in Los Angeles and some Bay Area counties still restrict activities. Most notably, San Francisco and Santa Clara counties have ordered a mandatory, 10-day quarantine for anyone coming from outside the region. Additionally Los Angeles County requires out-of-state visitors 16 and older to submit this online form prior to or upon arrival to LAX, Van Nuys Airport, or Union Station. Failure to do so is subject to up to a $500 fine. For more information on specific counties and municipalities, visit California's official website.
Colorado While there are no statewide travel restrictions, Colorado's Pitkin County, where ski resort town Aspen is located, set its own requirements on December 14, 2020 as part of the Pitkin County Traveler Affidavit. This program was replaced on March 5, 2021 with the Traveler Responsibility Code. Like the previous program, travelers spending one or more nights in the area are asked to fill out this Traveler Responsibility Code form and adhere to the guidelines. The Pitkin County website states "while [the Traveler Responsibility Code] has similar requirements to the previous Pitkin County Traveler Affidavit Program, the biggest difference is that the new program asks visitors to follow CDC’s travel recommendations in lieu of pre-arrival testing requirements."
Connecticut As of March 19, 2021, Connecticut no longer requires quarantine or testing in lieu of quarantine. Additionally, the new travel advisory states that travelers are no longer be required to fill out a CT Travel Health Form to travel, and the government will no longer be providing Travel Complaint Forms. Mandated self-quarantine is no longer required in Connecticut, but travelers should continue to follow CDC guidelines on quarantine after traveling.
District of Columbia The District of Columbia updated its travel requirements on March 3, 2021. Guidance now states The testing requirement is waived if an individual has been fully vaccinated within 90 days and does not have COVID-19 symptoms. The requirement is also waived for those who have tested positive for COVID-19 within the last 90 days and don't have symptoms. Private institutions and local government officials may ask for proof of a negative test. It is recommended to travel with your vaccination card with you in case documentation is required. If you have not yet been fully vaccinated, you should get a test within 72 hours of traveling, and if the test is positive, don’t travel. If you are a close contact of a confirmed positive case, don’t travel. If you are visiting for more than 3 days, you must limit activities until a second test is obtained 3-5 days after your arrival and returns negative. As of April 5, 2021, visitors from Maryland, Virginia, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Guam, Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon and the Virgin Islands are not required to get tested.
Hawaii All passengers traveling to Hawaii are subject to temperature checks and a mandatory 10-day quarantine in a home or hotel room. As of September 1, 2020, passengers and returning residents are also required to fill out the new online Safe Travels application. Beginning November 24, 2020, Hawaii will require passengers aged 5 and older to upload a negative result from a state-approved, FDA-authorized NAAT test, processed by a CLIA certified lab taken prior to departing for the islands in order to bypass the 10-day quarantine. Passengers can alternatively bring a hard copy of the negative test results when boarding the flight. The islands of Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Hawai'i continue with the state’s pre-travel testing program as outlined. As of April 5, 2021, Kauai has rejoined the pre-travel testing program. Maui has expanded their requirements to include contact tracing. Travelers should note that the availability of vacation rentals, car rentals, and other services may be affected by these restrictions. Despite the CDC's recently updated travel guidance, proof of vaccination is not a recognized exemption to the Hawaii travel quarantine.
Idaho While Idaho has no statewide travel restrictions, travelers to Boise, Twin Falls and some other municipalities are encouraged to quarantine for 14 days and must observe all local mandates.
Illinois Illinois has no statewide travel restrictions, however, an Emergency Travel Order still applies to people entering/returning to the city of Chicago. States and territories are now placed in two categories based on outbreak rates: Orange and Yellow. Orange states have daily case rates greater than 15 per 100,000 people and currently include New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Florida, Delaware, Connecticut, Colorado, Vermont, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Massachusetts, Tennessee, Alaska, Virginia, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Michigan, West Virginia, Maryland, Maine, North Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Ohio, and District of Columbia. Travelers from these areas are required to quarantine for 10 days or provide a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival. Yellow states have daily case rates under 15 per 100,000, which include Oklahoma, Mississippi, New Mexico, Indiana, Arkansas, Louisiana, Nevada, Kansas, Wisconsin, Washington, California, Wyoming, Missouri, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, Utah, Arizona, Texas, Kentucky, Idaho, Montana, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina. Travelers from yellow states and territories are not required to quarantine or provide test results but strict social distancing remains in place. Fully vaccinated persons are not required to quarantine provided more than 2 weeks has passed since the final dose was administered and they are asymptomatic. It is recommended that you bring a copy of your COVID-19 vaccination records while traveling.
Kansas Anyone who has traveled to or attended an out-of-state mass gathering event of 500 or more people where individuals did not socially distance (6 feet) and wear masks is recommended to quarantine for 10 days upon entering or returning to Kansas. Those who have been on a sea or river cruise since March 15, 2020 or have had close contact with a laboratory-confirmed case are also instructed to quarantine for 10 days. Those who traveled to to Delaware, Michigan or Rhode Island on or after March 26 or New York or New Jersey on or after March 12, 2021 should also follow quarantine guidelines. Kansas recently updated their quarantine guidelines with shortened time periods, so shorter quarantine is possible with proper testing. In general, travelers must quarantine from 7 to 10 days, depending upon whether or not they get tested on the sixth day of their quarantine. Those who receive a negative PCR (antibody tests are not accepted) result after testing on their sixth day will be released from quarantine on the eighth day rather than the eleventh day. See the press release for full details.
Kentucky On December 14, 2020, the Kentucky Department for Public Health (KDPH) revised its travel guidance to discourage all out-of-state leisure travel until further notice. The official website states "if persons do engage in out-of-state leisure travel, they are urged to voluntarily self-quarantine for 14 days when they return to Kentucky or follow CDC guidance for alternate options to shorten the quarantine period." As of April 2, 2021, Kentucky recognizes and defers to the CDC's updated travel guidance, which states that fully vaccinated travelers do not need to get tested before or after travel unless their destination requires it. Fully vaccinated travelers do not need to self-quarantine.
Maine All passengers are subject to mandatory 10-day quarantine, unless a negative COVID-19 antigen or molecular (PCR, NAAT, or isothermal) test is collected no more than 72 hours prior to arrival. Antibody tests are not accepted in lieu of quarantine. As of March 5, 2021, residents of Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont are allowed to enter without restriction. Travelers from any state or territory must sign a Certificate of Compliance, which indicates a negative COVID-19 test result, commitment to quarantine in Maine for 10 days, or that quarantine in Maine was completed. Individuals who have completed a COVID-19 vaccination series and are 14 days beyond the completion of the series are exempt from the testing and 10-day quarantine requirement above, regardless of their state of origin. An individual who had a positive COVID-19 molecular or antigen test is exempt from the testing and 10-day quarantine requirement above for 90 days (3 months) after their first positive test, provided they remain asymptomatic.
Maryland Effective Friday, March 12, 2021, quarantine requirements and other restrictions on out-of-state travel have been lifted. A Maryland Department of Health (MDH) travel advisory remains in place, and Marylanders are strongly encouraged to get tested for COVID-19 upon their return from out-of-state travel.
Massachusetts As of March 22, 2021, all visitors entering Massachusetts, including returning residents, are advised to quarantine for 10 days upon their arrival. Travelers in the following categories are exempt from this quarantine advisory: Travelers who have received a negative COVID-19 result on a test administered not more than 72 hours prior to their arrival in Massachusetts. Travelers may also test out of the quarantine advisory after arrival in Massachusetts, as long as they quarantine until receiving a negative test result. Travelers who are fully vaccinated and have received the final vaccine dose at least 14 days ago and who do not have symptoms are also exempt from the quarantine recommendation.
Minnesota Out of state travel is discouraged. Incoming visitors and residents that travel out-of-state are asked to quarantine for 14 days or follow the CDC's guidelines for shortened quarantine upon entry (or reentry) to Minnesota.
New Hampshire Domestic travel within the U.S. outside of New England no longer requires quarantine upon return to New Hampshire, although people are recommended to still follow CDC's travel guidance, including wearing a well-fitted face mask while traveling, practicing social distancing, getting tested 3-5 days after travel (with a molecular or PCR-based test), and limiting public interactions after travel (even if not required to quarantine).
New Jersey As of November 25, 2020, New Jersey will no longer utilize previously outlined metrics to inform its travel advisory. Travelers and residents are now subject quarantine for 10 days if arriving from any state beyond the immediate region (Connecticut, Delaware, New York, and Pennsylvania). Travelers are encouraged to fill out the voluntary online survey prior to arriving. Overall, the state discourages travel but if unavoidable, travelers should get a viral test (not antibody) 1-3 days before the trip and again 3-5 days after the trip. If travelers test positive during that time, they should self-isolate for at least 10 days. If travelers test negative, they should still quarantine for a full 7 days after travel. If testing is not available or results are delayed, travelers should quarantine for 10 days after travel. As of April 4, 2021, you no longer need to quarantine or get tested before/after domestic travel if you are fully vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19 in the past three months provided you are asymptomatic.
New Mexico Effective February 11, 2021, New Mexico will no longer require self-quarantine for travelers arriving from "high-risk" states. Instead, visitors from outside of the state are strongly advised to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days and to get a COVID-19 test upon their arrival in or return to New Mexico. Many travel restrictions in New Mexico are now enforced at the county level, so be sure to check your specific destinations for local restrictions before you go.
New York As of April 1, 2021, asymptomatic travelers entering New York from another U.S. state or territory are no longer required to test or quarantine. Quarantine, consistent with the CDC recommendations for international travel, is still recommended for domestic travelers who are not fully vaccinated or have not recovered from laboratory confirmed COVID-19 during the previous 3 months. Symptomatic travelers must immediately self-isolate and contact the local health department or their healthcare providers to determine if they should seek COVID-19 testing. All travelers entering New York from a state that is not a contiguous state who have been outside of New York for more than 24 hours must complete the Traveler Health Form. Contiguous states to New York are Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont. Irrespective of quarantine, all travelers must: monitor symptoms daily from day of arrival in New York through day 14; continue strict adherence to all recommended non-pharmaceutical interventions, including hand hygiene and the use of face coverings, through Day 14 (even if fully vaccinated); and must immediately self-isolate if any symptoms develop and contact the local public health authority or their healthcare provider to report this change in clinical status and determine if they should seek testing.
Ohio Beginning March 10, 2021, the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) will no longer issue a travel advisory for those entering Ohio after traveling to states reporting positive testing rates of 15% or higher. Instead, ODH is revising its travel guidance to encourage Ohioans to carefully review Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidance when considering travel.
Oregon On November 13, 2020, Oregon issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving from another state. Quarantine recommendations do not apply to individuals arriving to Oregon from other states or countries or Oregon residents returning from other states or countries if they have received both doses of a two-dose COVID-19 vaccine (or one dose of a single-dose vaccine if it becomes available), AND it has been at least 14 days since their final dose of COVID-19 vaccine, AND they have no COVID-19 symptoms.
Pennsylvania As of March 1, 2021 the Order of the Secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Health for Mitigation Relating To Travel is no longer in effect. Travelers should still practice appropriate public health measures to slow the spread of COVID-19 such as masking, physical distancing, and hand hygiene.
Puerto Rico Travelers to Puerto Rico must submit a negative result from a COVID-19 molecular test taken within 72 hours before arrival for entry. If visitors arrive without a negative test result, they must self-quarantine for 14 days or the length of the trip, whichever is shorter. You must also fill out an online travel declaration form.
Rhode Island Out-of-state visitors are required to complete a certificate of compliance and an out-of-state travel screening form. Travelers from states where positivity rates are higher than 5% are required to self-quarantine for 10 days or provide negative results from a test taken within 72 hours before arrival. Those states and territories are Alabama, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia. Effective December 10, 2020, anyone who has been in close contact with someone with COVID-19 must quarantine for 10 days from their last known exposure. You may shorten quarantine to 7 days if you have a negative result from a test taken at least 5 days after you were exposed. If you've tested positive for COVID-19 in the past 90 days and completed your isolation period, you do not need a negative test result to return or travel to Rhode Island. You are also not required to retest or quarantine unless you begin to have or still have symptoms. Fully vaccinated are not required to quarantine if more than 14 days has passed since the final dose was administered.
Vermont Effective on November 10, 2020, Vermont has suspended its leisure travel map and implemented a mandatory quarantine for anyone returning or traveling to Vermont. Travelers arriving to Vermont who have not completed a pre-arrival quarantine must complete either a 14-day quarantine or a 7-day quarantine followed by a negative test in a Vermont lodging establishment or with friends and family. Additionally, all out-of-state travelers who plan to stay in lodging, campgrounds, and short-term rental properties must sign and complete a certificate of compliance. If you have been vaccinated, you do not need to quarantine to travel to Vermont or return to Vermont, as long as at least 14 days have passed since you received your final vaccine dose.
Washington As of March 19, 2021, Gov. Jay Inslee rescinded his November 2020 Travel Advisory and is advising Washingtonians and others visiting Washington to comply with the Center for Disease Control’s current COVID-19 travel advisory guidance. If you must travel, take steps to protect yourself and others: If you are eligible, get fully vaccinated for COVID-19. Before you travel, get tested with a viral test 1-3 days before your trip. Wear a mask over your nose and mouth when in public. Avoid crowds and stay at least 6 feet/2 meters (about 2 arm lengths) from anyone who did not travel with you. Get tested 3-5 days after your trip and stay home and self-quarantine for a full 7 days after travel, even if your test is negative. If you don’t get tested, stay home and self-quarantine for 10 days after travel.

Traveling Safely During the Pandemic

If you do plan on traveling during the pandemic, be sure to take the necessary precautions to ensure the safety of yourself and others around you. We recommend the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention’s (CDC) comprehensive guide to traveling safely during the pandemic.

COVID-19 Pandemic Travel Packing Checklist

To make sure you are well prepared, we have created a simple packing checklist for your travels:

  • Face Mask
    • Wear this at all times in public spaces
    • If it is a fabric mask, be sure to wash it regularly
  • Hand Sanitizer
    • Apply before and after touching public surfaces or items, as well as before and after eating or drinking
  • Anti-bacterial Wipes
    • Perfect for wiping down door handles, gas pumps, steering wheels, and any other hard surfaces you may touch
  • Contactless Payment Card
    • Cash is a high-touch item often passed between multiple people
  • Non-perishable Food
    • This will minimize food stops and limit exposure to others
    • Non-perishable food also prepares for unexpected restaurant closures
    • Avoid eating and drinking in public as this will require the removal of your mask
  • Prescription Medicine
    • When possible, arrange to pick this up curbside to avoid unnecessary contact
  • Carry-on Luggage
    • If you are flying, opt for carry-on luggage so you can avoid lingering in crowded spaces at baggage claim
    • You also have better control over who touches your luggage
  • Essential Clothing Only
    • Consider packing light to fit your belongings in a carry-on
    • Be sure to wash your clothing regularly, especially once they have been exposed to the public

U.S. State Sources for COVID-19 Travel Restrictions

State Source for Updates
Alabama https://covid19.alabama.gov/
Alaska https://covid19.alaska.gov/travelers/
Arizona https://www.azdhs.gov/
Arkansas https://healthy.arkansas.gov/
California https://www.cdph.ca.gov/
Colorado https://www.colorado.gov/cdphe
Connecticut https://portal.ct.gov/Coronavirus/travel
Delaware https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html
District of Columbia https://coronavirus.dc.gov/
Florida https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/travelers/
Georgia https://dph.georgia.gov/
Hawaii https://health.hawaii.gov/
Idaho https://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/
Illinois https://www.dph.illinois.gov/
Indiana https://www.in.gov/isdh/
Iowa https://idph.iowa.gov/
Kansas https://www.coronavirus.kdheks.gov/
Kentucky https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/Pages/default.aspx
Louisiana https://ldh.la.gov/
Maine https://www.maine.gov/covid19/
Maryland https://health.maryland.gov/pages/home.aspx
Massachusetts https://www.mass.gov/info-details/covid-19-updates-and-information
Michigan https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs
Minnesota https://www.health.state.mn.us/diseases/coronavirus/prevention.html#travel
Mississippi https://msdh.ms.gov/
Missouri https://health.mo.gov/index.php
Montana https://dphhs.mt.gov/
Nebraska http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Nevada http://dpbh.nv.gov/
New Hampshire https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/
New Jersey https://covid19.nj.gov/
New Mexico https://www.nmhealth.org/
New York https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory
North Carolina https://www.ncdhhs.gov/
North Dakota https://www.health.nd.gov/
Ohio https://coronavirus.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/covid-19/home
Oklahoma https://coronavirus.health.ok.gov/
Oregon https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/pages/index.aspx
Pennsylvania https://www.health.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Rhode Island https://health.ri.gov/
South Carolina https://scdhec.gov/
South Dakota https://doh.sd.gov/
Tennessee https://www.tn.gov/health.html
Texas https://dshs.state.tx.us/
Utah https://coronavirus.utah.gov/
Vermont https://accd.vermont.gov/covid-19/restart/cross-state-travel
Virginia https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/
Washington https://www.doh.wa.gov/
West Virginia https://dhhr.wv.gov/bph/Pages/default.aspx
Wisconsin https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/
Wyoming https://health.wyo.gov/

This guidance of United States Pandemic Travel Restrictions by State is provided for informational and educational purposes only. It is intended to offer travelers guidance regarding domestic travel. The information in this article reflects the most up-to-date information available at the time of publication. Due to the developing situation and lack of uniform reporting methods between states, some information may not be current. Please check the official state website of any state you plan to travel to/through for the most accurate information at the time of travel.